Remove this ad

Olsuviev

Chef de bataillon

Despotic Chastiser of the Serfs

Lead

Oct 6 15 12:06 AM

Tags : :

It probably escaped the notice of most of us as traffic has been slow recently, but the site was down again last week while Forumer changed servers.   B'tards.

Now, La Bricole has been going since 2010, and I have no intention of closing it down. Even if it is just a few people posting regulary, I'm happy to keep it going.  It's a cozy place!

Looking at the traffic records, we have periods of activity followed by the doldrums, but seeing as that reflects the pattern for my own hobby activity- and that of quite a few others I suspect- its not such a great deal.  And of course there are a lot of different forums, blogs, and other online activities out there competing for our attention these days.

Still, it is clear that numbers are wa-ay down since the disastrous migration, and as an administrator I find this new format harder to navigate and especially to customize, given the time available to me and my level of techie know-how.  

To cut to the chase- I've been considering re-booting the forum yet again to a format more familiar to most of us (for example WD3,  The Outpost, and what I can call the old "classic" La Bricole). That means going over to a new forum host.

It would take a bit of time to set up, but not that long,  The biggest hassle being that everyone would have to change bookmarks, and for me having to restore permissions, new boards, etc.  And for all of us it means setting up new avatars and so on.  Every time that happens, we lose members to attrition.  But on the other hand, it might be a good opportunity to get interest going again, to re-publicize the site, and to start fresh.

I would keep the old site up- all the time it is working- as an archive.  I don't think I could transfer over the old threads, but I could look into it.